the w project

I would be remiss not to mention the interesting and important discussion which has been happening in the world of Lindy and the Internet; if you’ve been paying attention to your friends’ newsfeeds, you might have noticed some really interesting discussions about fashion, feminism, and pride (though it’s really much more complex than that). I have no world-changing revelations to contribute to this conversation, so I’m not going to say more than my personal philosophy: be proud of your body, keep in mind how you want to present yourself to the people you dance with, and respect your peers. The last two apply both to fashion choices and internet discussions.

Instead, I want to change focus (to something much lighter) and look at a great video which these heated discussions somehow brought to my attention:

I really enjoy this choreography by The W Project. It uses very simple moves to make interesting shapes and interesting movement combinations. Here are some moments which really caught my eye:

:43 funky little boogie forward variation
:54 combination to knee slap
1:25 – 1:36 sequence (and it’s a chorus!)
1:46 chain reaction
2:00 line movement (horizontal)
2:27 different line movement (vertical)
2:54 sexy shorty georges (love girl second from right)

For me, the appeal of this choreography comes in it’s musicality. This applies not just to the movements, which reflect the music quite accurately*, but also to the structure of the choreography, which uses a great sequence from 1:25 – 1:36 as a chorus. This sequence is interesting because it takes a lot of common jazz moves and strings them together rapidly, so that each individual move might only last four counts. There’s half a box-step strung together with a boogie drops / hallelujah move to the front. Then, as the musical chorus culminates, so does the dance chorus: a full eight-count of really energetic, really dynamic kicks to the front.

I also love shapes (referring specifically to the shapes that a group of people make), and this choreography moves through some really great shapes very quickly. I particularly love the moments in a line, like the little skates at 2:00 in a horizontal, and the purposeful walking with the heads that follow. Then, at 2:27, there’s a vertical line with some absolutely fantastic crazy legs by the girl in front.

So yeah. This makes me happy, and it inspires me to go get my own band of awesome people to make an interesting, unique, and musical little choreography.

***

*A brief note on musicality, on which I am not an expert, but do have a relevant opinion. I believe that good musicality is a movement which reflects the music but does not try to perfectly represent the dominant musical moment (usually the melody).

When a movement is too musical, it can sit on top of the music. Great musicality hits some moments in the music, while it lets other moments speak for themselves. I would not necessarily say that this video has great musicality, in that most of the movements try to perfectly represent the dominant musical moment, but I would say that the musicality is quite enjoyable.

There are a lot of opinions on what great musicality is (ranging from perfectly representing the dominant musical moment to making your body into a musical instrument which adds its own flair). If you have an opinion on the musicality here, please share — because really, the range of ways music can be represented through movement is fascinating!

  One thought on “the w project

  1. 26 March 2013 at 11:57 pm

    Oh man, I was about to write about how I had once heard musicality be described as jamming along with the song. Then I read your last paragraph and realized it would be redundant. I do tend to base my musicality on this idea, that sometime my movements are maybe a little understated and not right with the dominant portion and that sometimes it’s my sections time to shine. I think part of the problem with perfect matching is that it becomes a little to tiring to see movements be so representative.

    • 27 March 2013 at 1:43 am

      I think you have a really good point there – musicality which is too perfectly matched can also become boring if it’s repeated too much. Still, I love how many different ways there are to be musical! Thanks for your reply!

Leave a Reply

